How to Improve Focus by Retraining Your Attention Muscle

Dan Silvestre
11 min readSep 17, 2018
improve focus

I get a lot of emails asking the following question: “How can I improve focus and work/study for a longer period of time?”

Improving focus and getting more out of the day is the number #1 struggle of my readers and members. This makes sense, as they are already trying to be more productive. They are aware and now looking for solutions to improve focus.

But the same happens with friends. “There’s not enough time”, “I just have so much to do”, and “I can’t concentrate on a task for half an hour” are some of the things I hear all the time.

And I the more I look, the more I find it. Literally everywhere.

People looking at their phones multiple times during a movie.

Opening email to search for a specific conversation only to forget about it seconds later.

Texting while driving (seriously?).

Our attention levels draw dangerously close to that of a goldfish. We lost our ability to concentrate. Focus is a lost art.

What’s really going on here?

Too much.

That’s what’s going on…

What Is Focus?

Focus is starting a task and maintaining your attention and effort until the…

--

--

Dan Silvestre

Performance coach helping leaders get the right things done with less effort than anything they've tried before. Join 20k+ readers: newsletter.dansilvestre.com