10 Lessons from 10 Years of Writing

Writing is never easy. But with practice, it becomes easier.

Dan Silvestre
7 min readAug 11, 2021

Recently, a reader asked me if I had any tips on being a writer.

I never considered myself a “writer” (most writers don’t), even though I have been publishing online in various forms for the last 10 years.

The question forced me to think. I started writing, so I could think (see #2 below).

When I finished typing a reply, I noticed I had written a short essay on lessons about the craft of writing.

So here’s what I learned throughout 10 years of writing:

1. Write for Yourself

When I started writing, I wrote for myself. To this day, I continue to think that.

Some people will find it interesting. Some won’t. Such is life. Either way, I’ve said what I wanted to say.

Here’s the irony:

By writing for yourself, you’re more likely to write something others love. Readers are smart. They can feel the authenticity of your writing. And the best way to be authentic is to write for yourself.

Another benefit of writing for yourself is that the process of writing is the reward itself. You’ll begin to ( gasp!) love writing.

--

--

Dan Silvestre

Performance coach helping leaders get the right things done with less effort than anything they've tried before. Join 20k+ readers: newsletter.dansilvestre.com